Photo of adesso cups on a coffee table

What is the idea behind the adesso Academic Committee?

Interview with Dr Angela Carell, adesso SE. She is responsible for the research division at adesso.

What is the idea behind the adesso Academic Committee?

Dr Angela Carell: adesso has been cooperating with universities and colleges as part of publicly funded research projects since the company was founded. We have always found these cooperations to be extremely productive. We benefit enormously from being able to help develop new technologies and approaches to software engineering, test them in a research context and then transfer them into practice application. We wanted to intensify this cooperation and put it on a wider platform. So, we looked for professors of software engineering for the adesso Academic Committee who cover a wide range of topics.

It is also our aim to organise a continuous cooperation between academia and practice application. Of course, this isn’t possible if a committee only meets once or twice a year. That’s why we have formed tandem partnerships. An adesso office cooperates intensively with an assigned academic from the Committee. Of course, we pay attention to regional proximity so that the exchange is also successful in terms of day-to-day practicality. As a result, the Academic Committee creates an intensive and continuous cooperation throughout the year.

What topics does the Committee typically address?

Dr Angela Carell: There are actually no typical topics. We want to be open to all topics that are currently being discussed at the universities. We have already dealt with many different topics ranging from platform economics to cyber-physical systems to AI.

The boundary where entrepreneurial practice and academic research meet is also an incredibly exciting place to be. Both sides can learn from each other.
Dr Angela Carell, Head of adesso research
Photo of Angela Carell

Are there any examples of where insights from the Academic Committee have been incorporated into the work carried out by adesso?

Dr Angela Carell: The most intensive cooperation at the moment is in the area of blockchain with Professor Tai from the TU Berlin. His expertise has enabled us to expand our own knowledge in the field and we have already produced several successful proofs of concepts. We involve Professor Tai in customer projects as an external expert. In addition, we have jointly acquired a research project in the field of the digitalisation of construction, which deals with automated billing processes using blockchain technology.

Going beyond the Academic Committee, where else is adesso playing an active role in terms of research and teaching?

Dr Angela Carell: Our research topics are as broad as adesso itself. This year, for example, we are going to conclude two research projects. The InVerSiV project dealt with (partially) automated driving in the megacity. In the healthcare sector, we have developed and tested STEADY, a system designed to help patients dealing with depression manage their self-care.

Can you give us an example of a research project that you’re currently involved with?

Dr Angela Carell: Right now, I’m working in the research area of digitalisation of the building industry. To this end, we have been able to acquire two research projects at the same time: BIMSWARM and BIMCHAIN. In BIMSWARM, we’re involved with the topic of platform economy. In BIMCHAIN, we’re responsible for the realisation of the blockchain as an implementation partner. But above all, our added value lies in the fact that these projects enable us to build up a sound knowledge of the industry that we didn’t have previously. As a result of this and the network that we’ve built up in the industry thanks to our research contacts, we have now been able to win our first ‘real’ project in the form of the ‘BIM Competence Centre’.

Save this page. Remove this page.

adesso

Was ist die Idee hinter dem adesso-Hochschulbeirat?

Interview mit Dr. Angela Carell, adesso AG. Sie ist verantwortlich für den Bereich Research bei adesso.

Was ist die Idee hinter dem adesso-Hochschulbeirat?

Dr. Angela Carell: adesso arbeitet seit Gründung mit Universitäten und Hochschulen im Rahmen öffentlich geförderter Forschungsprojekte zusammen. Diese Kooperationen haben wir immer als äußerst fruchtbar erlebt. Wir profitieren enorm davon, neue Technologien und Ansätze der Softwaretechnik mitentwickeln, im Forschungskontext erproben und dann in die Praxis transferieren zu können. Diese Zusammenarbeit wollten wir intensivieren und auf eine breitere Basis stellen. Entsprechend haben wir uns für den adesso-Hochschulbeirat Professoren der Softwaretechnik gesucht, die ein breites Themenspektrum abdecken.

Unser Ziel ist ferner, eine kontinuierliche Zusammenarbeit zwischen Wissenschaft und Praxis zu organisieren. Das geht natürlich nicht, wenn ein Beirat nur ein- bis zweimal im Jahr zusammenkommt. Deshalb haben wir Tandems gebildet. Eine adesso-Geschäftsstelle arbeitet dabei intensiv mit einem zugeordneten Wissenschaftler des Beirates zusammen. Dabei achten wir natürlich auf regionale Nähe, damit der Austausch auch im Alltag gelingt. So entsteht durch den Hochschulbeirat eine intensive und kontinuierliche Zusammenarbeit über das ganze Jahr verteilt.

Welchen Themen widmet sich der Beirat typischerweise?

Dr. Angela Carell: Typische Themen gibt es eigentlich nicht. Wir wollen ja gerade offen sein für alle Themen, die an den Universitäten aktuell diskutiert werden. Von Plattformökonomie über Cyber-Physical Systems bis hin zu KI haben wir uns schon sehr vielen unterschiedlichen Themen gewidmet.

Viel Spannendes entsteht auch an der Grenze zwischen der unternehmerischen Praxis auf der einen und der wissenschaftlichen Forschung auf der anderen Seite. Beide Seiten können voneinander lernen.
Dr. Angela Carell, Leitung adesso research

Gibt es Beispiele dafür, an welchen Stellen Erkenntnisse aus dem Hochschulbeirat in die Arbeit von adesso einflossen?

Dr. Angela Carell: Die aktuell intensivste Kooperation besteht im Bereich Blockchain mit Professor Tai von der TU Berlin. Mit seiner Expertise konnten wir unser eigenes Know-how auf dem Gebiet ausbauen und haben so schon einige erfolgreiche Proofs of Concepts erarbeitet. Wir ziehen Professor Tai in Kundenprojekten als externen Experten hinzu. Darüber hinaus haben wir im Bereich Digitalisierung des Bauens gemeinsam ein Forschungsprojekt akquiriert, das sich mit automatisierten Abrechnungsprozessen mittels Blockchain-Technologie befasst.

Über den Beirat hinaus: An welchen Stellen ist adesso in den Themenfeldern Forschung und Lehre noch aktiv?

Dr. Angela Carell: Unsere Forschungsthemen sind so breit aufgestellt wie adesso selbst. Dieses Jahr schließen wir beispielsweise zwei Forschungsprojekte ab. Das Projekt InVerSiV befasste sich mit (teil-) automatisiertem Fahren in der Megacity (www.inversiv.de). Im Bereich Gesundheitswesen haben wir mit STEADY ein System zur Unterstützung des Krankheitsselbstmanagements von Patienten mit Depressionen entwickelt und erprobt (www.steady-projekt.de).

Gibt es ein Beispiel für ein aktuelles Forschungsvorhaben, das dich beschäftigt?

Dr. Angela Carell: Aktuell beschäftigt mich das Forschungsgebiet „Digitalisierung des Bauwesens“. Dazu haben wir mit dem Projekt BIMSWARM und BIMCHAIN gleich zwei Forschungsprojekte akquirieren können. In BIMSWARM sind wir mit dem Thema Plattformökonomie vertreten. In BIMCHAIN sind wir als Umsetzungspartner für die Realisierung der Blockchain verantwortlich. Unser Mehrwert liegt aber vor allem darin, dass wir uns über diese Projekte ein fundiertes Branchenwissen aufbauen können, das wir vorher nicht hatten. Dadurch und durch das Netzwerk in die Branche, das wir mit den Forschungskontakten aufgebaut haben, konnten wir nun mit dem „Kompetenzzentrum BIM“ ein erstes „richtiges“ Projekt gewinnen.

Sie haben Fragen?

+49 231 7000-7000

Nehmen Sie Kontakt mit uns auf. Wir stehen Ihnen gerne für ein persönliches Gespräch zur Verfügung.

Diese Seite speichern. Diese Seite entfernen.

C71.898,22.5,97.219,25.136,96.279,52.11z"/>